The Foreboding Finale: Master’s Capstone

I’m posting over on Hack Library School today!
My good friend and classmate Julia Feerrar is a contributing author for HLS, and asked me to co-author a post about Master’s capstone projects. Check it out!

hls

In my program (UNC SILS), all master’s students are required to complete a capstone paper or project prior to graduation. Both options require students to approach a “problem” in information or library science in a “substantial and scholarly way.” No small feat, right? I bet a bunch of you out there are facing similar tasks within the next year and I’m hoping that we can begin to face them together. First up: how to get started? I’ve called on my friend and classmate, Robbin Zirkle, to add her insights. Robbin is working on her project this fall and is (hopefully!) graduating in December.

wordle

Capstone Options

Robbin: I went into the planning stages of INLS 992 with the intention of writing a master’s paper, likely involving content analysis of collection development policies. When I was considering how to go about completing my paper, though, I realized that I wanted…

View original post 790 more words

Leave a Reply

