I’m a Liebster! (Almost)

liebster-award1

Earlier this week, I received a pleasant surprise in my inbox – a nomination for a Liebster Award!  My former classmate Dara Fennell from Inspiration Creation was nice enough to nominate me for this award.  Shamefully, however, I’d never heard of it!

Dara pointed out in her post that “Liebster” means “dearest” in Deutsch.  Similarly, the Liebster Blog Award is…

Photo c/o Silver Screenings
Photo c/o Silver Screenings

The purpose of the Liebster Award is to recognize bloggers with small followings and to encourage them to keep posting.  Nominees are asked to…

Link back to the blogger who  nominated you

Answer the 11 questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you

Nominate other bloggers with less than 200 followers

Go to the blogs you nominated and notify them of their nomination

Give your nominees 11 questions to answer

Truth be told, this couldn’t come at a better time, as I’m considering shifting the focus of my blog to extend beyond Library Land.  I could use some self-reflection!

That stated, here are my responses to Dara’s questions:

What is your goal for your blog?

Eventually, I would love for my blog to represent all of my interests.  I’m currently using it to promote my professional ideas, but I have strong interests in travel, do-it-yourself design, book reviews, sustainability, and (naturally) cooking.  I would love to share that with readers who are equally passionate.

If you could have dinner, or coffee, with any fictional character who would it be and why?

My first instinct is to say Robert Oliver from Elizabeth Kostova’s The Swan Thieves.  I’ve just finished reading the book, and I am simultaneously afraid of and entranced by this character’s tragic brilliance, and its ability to consume his life.  Above anything else, I think speaking to someone with an obsession devotion to his (or her) art would be rejuvenating, which I am in need of as I near the end of my graduate studies.

What is your life like outside of your blog?

I would describe my life as a quiet adventure.  I’m currently finishing my graduate program and applying for jobs, but outside of that, I seek to spend time with the people I care about.  I enjoy constant company, and travel.  I am a compulsive planner as well.  I try one new thing from Pinterest every week.  While I probably seem quite tame to other people, I get a thrill out of all of these parts of my life.

What is your favorite book of all time and what book are you reading now? (yeah, I know, it’s a two-fer.  Oh, well.)

Of all time?  This is hardly fair.  My favorite book that I have read recently was Charlie Lovett’s The Bookman’s Tale, which I reviewed on my blog.  I’m currently working on Tolkien’s The Hobbit, which I had previously given up on.  I’m enjoying it much more this time through.

What other blogs do you enjoy following?

I follow a number of blogs through Digg, but some of my favorites include Hack Library School, Oh My Veggies, and Knock Off Décor.

What is your favorite word?

Prenotazione (pray-noh-tat-zyo-nay).  It’s Italian for “reservation,” and I love saying it.  I love how it slides out of the sides of your mouth, the roll of the “r,” and the perfect circle your mouth makes in the second-to-last syllable.  Prenotazione.

Where would you live if you could live anywhere on Earth?

Costa Rica.  My boyfriend and I spend a great deal of time sending homes from Living the Dream Realty back and forth to one another.

What TV show are you currently obsessing over?

Bones!  I’ve always been a fan of the Kathy Reichs books, so seeing the screen adaptation is a thrill.  I would love to befriend Dr. Temperance Brennan – and her whole team.

What is your favorite holiday tradition?

Christmas Eve Dinner.  My family doesn’t traditionally do a big meal on Christmas Day (we prefer sleep), so we do our big meal on Christmas Eve.  It’s a nice, quiet evening with music and prime rib and excitement for the next morning.

What other creative passions do you have?

Aside from reading and finishing library school, I enjoy knitting and cooking.  One day, I would love to write my own cookbook, or develop a dedicated food blog.  The issue here is that I don’t use recipes – I’ll have to work on that!

If you could tell your readers one thing, what would it be?

Share your thoughts about what you’d like to see more of.  If personal posts tickle your fancy, I’m happy to oblige, as I love to talk about myself/my life/the people in my life.  Alternately, if the professional posts do it for you, please let me know that as well.  This blog is a place for me to share and document my thoughts.

liebster-award-main

Finally, because I follow blogosphere-rules with a fanatic sort of ferocity, I would like to nominate Michelle from Em Bee Bee, Kathleen from Adventures of an Aspiring Librarian, and Maci from Healthy Girly Life to join me.  Grab the Liebster Award button, post it proudly, and continue this tradition with me!  The questions I would like for you to answer are –

  1. What are your goals for your blog?
  2. What is your favorite social media outlet?  Why?
  3. What is your favorite place that you have ever been?
  4. How does your blog fit into the rest of your life – or not?
  5. You’re going to be sent to a desert island with only five books.  Which five books would you choose to take with you?
  6. What do you like to do on any given Friday night?
  7. If you won the lottery, would you work anyway?  What would you do?
  8. If you could write a blog post that everyone in the country would read, what would it be about?
  9. What blogs do you most enjoy following?
  10. What is your favorite dessert?
  11. If you could tell your blog’s readers one thing, what would it be?

Please note, some of these questions are borrowed from Dara’s post here.  That stated, they were fantastic questions – I couldn’t wait to ask my fellow bloggers!  Likewise, what are your answers, readers?

liebsterbutton

One thought on “I’m a Liebster! (Almost)

Leave a Reply

