In Reflection

This afternoon, when I signed into WordPress, I was wished a happy anniversary.  It turns out that today marks my website’s One Year Anniversary!

Photo c/o Plentyofcoulour.com
Photo c/o Plentyofcoulour.com

Such a milestone is fitting, as it comes along with some other changes.

First, I have decided to expand the scope of this blog to include my other interests.  While it will maintain professionalism, I am planning to incorporate book reviews, technology trials, and a number of not-strictly-libraryish posts.  I’m also tossing around the idea of incorporating my other passion: cooking.  I’ll also be renaming the site.  “Robbin Zirkle” is not quite as dashing and daring as I might like.  It needs more pizzazz.

Second — and more importantly — I have completed my Master’s studies!  My final class was this past Wednesday, and as of this morning, I have finished all of my assignments.  I won’t completely wrap up my obligations until Thursday afternoon during a final transition meeting for ILSSA, but I’m feeling quite accomplished at this moment.

As such, I want to share a snippet of the address I will be delivering at commencement; it seems quite fitting at this moment.

I want to invite you to take a moment to reflect not only upon your accomplishments, but on the passion that fueled you as you reached them.  Reflect upon the goal that you started out with, the somewhat-hazy and impossible dream that inspired you to begin your studies here.  That passion, and that dream, is what will keep you going as you create a legacy not only for yourself, but for Carolina, for SILS, and for the people who came here to watch you graduate today.

Leave a Reply

