Last-Minute Gift Guide

As most people who have met me can attest to, I love the holiday season.  In my house, we celebrate Christmas, which means that on the day after Thanksgiving, I can turn on my Songza Christmas station and start gift shopping.

In that vein, I’m going to share some gift ideas for everyone on your list.  I’ve shared a few books that I’ve given as gifts as well as some other finds.  Better yet, you should still be able to purchase every item on here, even if you haven’t started your shopping!

For the Classy Shawl-Wearer: A Fabulous Handmade Shawl Pin

Photo c/o DonnaJs Etsy Shop
Photo c/o DonnaJs Etsy Shop

I’m a huge fan of the copper creations over at Donna J’s Etsy Shop.  I purchased the pin pictured above as a gift for my thesis advisor, and will purchase again in the future.  Added bonus: Donna provides beautiful wrapping and ships quickly!

_

For the Casual Outdoorsman: A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

Photo c/o Barnes & Noble
Photo c/o Barnes & Noble

While this is a definite departure from my normal reading recommendations, I found this book funny and factual.  Bryson weaves together the history of the Appalachian Trail along with his own experience of hiking it.  I would proudly present this to any hiker I know.

_

For Your Vino-Adoring Compatriot: Electric Wine Bottle Opener

Photo c/o Amazon
Photo c/o Amazon

We’ve had one of these for a few years now, and it’s phenomenal.  They stay charged for thirty (plus) bottles, and make opening a bottle of wine (or whatever) a breeze.  Ours is the Oster brand (pictured above), but there are a variety of options out there as well.

_

For the Comic: Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris

Photo c/o Barnes & Noble
Photo c/o Barnes & Noble

Witty and definitely rated PG-13, this is a holiday favorite in my house.  Sedaris’s collection of short stories incorporates a number of holidays, not just Christmas.  Furthermore, it’s worth re-reading!

_

For the Zealous Utilitarian:  All-Weather Floor Liners

Photo c/o Husky Liners
Photo c/o Husky Liners

I purchased these custom fit Husky Liners for my boyfriend’s birthday.  I got them through Amazon, and while they’ll set you back at least $100, they are amazing at protecting the interior of your car.  Bonus: Amazon lets you find the right type based on your vehicle, so they will fit your car like a glove.

_

For the Dystopian Novel Enthusiast: The Bone Season: A Novel by Samantha Shannon

Photo c/o Barnes & Noble
Photo c/o Barnes & Noble

I read this gem upon recommendation of my friend Alexandra.  It is smart and relatable, and deals with fantastical themes.  Better yet, it is part of a seven-book series, and a studio purchased the rights to make a film out of the series before it went to print.  Yes, it’s that good.

_

For the Kid (or Kid at Heart): Fort Kit

Photo c/o meg + andy
Photo c/o meg + andy

Really, who doesn’t love a good fort?  I’m a fan of the DIY kit featured over at meg + andy.  This is very easy to create, and will thrill anyone who receives it!

Alright readers; can you see yourself giving any of these to people you love this Christmas?

One thought on “Last-Minute Gift Guide

Leave a Reply

