Five on Friday

It’s back!  I’m determined to keep up with Five on Friday posts, especially while I am job-hunting!  Now, onto the things I’m loving this week:

carolina charm

One | Earlier this week, I finished reading The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.  To put it simply, this was a fantastic read.  I was worried that it would be reminiscent of other dog stories that make me cry.  I was pleasantly surprised; Enzo (the narrator) is smart, observant, and puts things poignantly.  He shares his life, and the lives of his people in this 150-page-r.

Image c/o Barnes & Noble
Image c/o Barnes & Noble

Two This chocolate sorcery called Dobryanka from Russia that my amazing boyfriend brought me.  According to a Russian-speaking acquaintance, “dobryanka” roughly translates to “fondue.”  All I know is that it’s a delicious chocolate wafer wrapped around a Nutella-esque cream sprinkled with popped rice.  If you have the chance to try this, please do.

Obligatory crappy Blackberry photo
Obligatory crappy Blackberry photo

Three | Music from Baz Luhrmann’s The Great Gatsby.  I’ve been listening to this soundtrack on my way to and from the gym, and I think it’s great.  The most recent iteration of Gatsby gets a lot of flack — which I don’t necessarily agree with — but I think that anyone can enjoy the soundtrack if they just let themselves!

Image c/o Barnes & Noble
Image c/o Barnes & Noble

Four | My friend Michelle sent me a pot of Santa’s Lip Scrub by Lush and I am obsessed.  You buff your lips, you lick it off, it tastes like cola.  Amazing.  Pennsylvania has been experiencing some freakish post-polar vortex weather, so this has been a lifesaver.

Please enjoy the adorable postcard Michelle sent me as well!
Please enjoy the adorable postcard Michelle sent me as well!

Five | My mighty crock pot.  It’s been a workhorse all winter, and in the last week or so, I’ve used it for a gigantic pot of tomato soup and a vegetable ragout.  I’ll spare you the photo of my actual crock pot as it’s currently cooking away, but trust me, it’s earned its place on this list.  A lovely model picture will do.

Image c/o Crock-Pot's website
Image c/o Crock-Pot’s website

Want to join in on Five on Friday?  Justwrite a post about five things you’re loving and/or want to share, slap the Five on Friday logo on the post, and link up on A.Liz Adventures, Carolina Charm, The Good Life, and/or Hello Happiness.

2 thoughts on “Five on Friday

    • Thanks for visiting, Tara! It’s excellent, and meaningful without being too sappy. If you ever see that candy, you must try it!

Leave a Reply

