Five On Friday

My oh my, has it been a crazy week.  From applications to interviews, lunches to coffee dates, I haven’t had much time to update this blog, but good things are coming once I have photographs!  Without further excuses, here are five things that I’m loving this week.

carolina charm

One | Yesterday I both started and finished reading The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  At 310-ish pages, this isn’t a feat of endurance, but rather a feat of interest.  Rarely do I encounter a book that I find so captivating.  Fault is poignant and witty, putting a microscope over adolescent cancer patients without dousing the narrative in oppressive sentimentality.  Moreover, I’d give the book five out of five stars, and I want to read it again to enjoy the prose.  (Shoutout: Thank you for the Christmas book, Michelle!)

Image c/o Barnes & Noble
Image c/o Barnes & Noble

Two | Last week, I read this Buzzfeed article about how to find your MLBB: “My Lips But Better” lipstick shade.  Thus, I visited Ulta, determined to find the perfect MLBB.  Mine was waiting for me in the NYX aisle — I love NYX cosmetics, as they’re high quality, reasonably priced, and never tested on animals.  My shade of choice is called, fittingly, “Minimalism” ($3.99 at my local Ulta).  It blends perfectly with the darkest part of my lips, and provides a creamy finish.

Photo c/o my terrible Blackberry camera
Photo c/o my terrible Blackberry camera

Three | My new business cards arrived!  This is the second batch of cards that I have ordered from 123Print, and it will not be my last.  They are fast, decently inexpensive, and of a respectable quality.  My new cards are from the Linen Ribbon collection.

Photo c/o my terrible Blackberry camera
Photo c/o my terrible Blackberry camera

Four | On Monday, I had coffee and lunch with a friend, and she shared The Writer’s Almanac with me.  This daily NPR special is nothing new, but I had never heard of it before!  Each day the host, Garrison Keillor, shares a poem, and important events and birthdays for that day in history.  She showed me how to subscribe via email, so I can now listen and read the day’s edition even if I’m not at my radio when it airs!  (Shoutout: Thanks for sharing, Mariana!)

Image c/o NHPR
Image c/o NHPR

Five | While it’s been unbearably cold this week, we’ve been blessed with unexpectedly blue skies and lots of sunshine.  It’s easy to overlook, but since we generally end up with four to five months of gray skies here in Happy Valley, PA, I try to enjoy every bit of pleasant winter weather we get, even if there is a -15 degree windchill.

Photo c/o my terrible Blackberry camera
Photo c/o my terrible Blackberry camera

Want to join in on Five on Friday?  Justwrite a post about five things you’re loving and/or want to share, slap the Five on Friday logo on the post, and link up on A.Liz Adventures, Carolina Charm, The Good Life, and/or Hello Happiness.

One thought on “Five On Friday

Leave a Reply

