Vegetarian Chili

In last week’s Five on Friday post, I gave you a peek at one of my most recent recipes: my vegetarian chili.  I have to admit, my recipe isn’t original, and is an adapted version of Layers of Happiness’ Easy Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili.

Vegetarian Chili | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

I’m sure the recipe is delicious as-is, but like everything, I needed to adapt it to reduce the sodium and accommodate what vegetables are available to me (because I’m usually too lazy to go anywhere but Trader Joe’s).  The result is tart and tomatoey, and completely customizable.  I used pepper and Italian seasoning to season my chili, but you could also use bay leaves, fresh herbs, or even hot sauce.

A note about this recipe, however: I was ambitious and tried to stuff too much in my crock pot.  I’ve adjusted the recipe in light of my struggles, but I highly recommend dialing back parts of this dish if it won’t fit in your slow cooker.  You could also make this on the stove quite easily!

Vegetarian Chili

Adapted from Layers of Happiness

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dried red kidney beans
  • 1 cup dried black beans
  • 6 oz. can tomato paste
  • 15 oz. can corn
  • (2) 28 oz. cans unsalted crushed tomatoes
  • 4 oz. can diced green chilis
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 10 oz. baby portobello mushrooms, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • Half a zucchini, diced
  • Seasonings, to taste

Directions

  1. The night before you plan to eat chili, place your beans in your crock pot and cover them with water.  Allow them to soak overnight.
  2. In the morning, drain your beans.  Here, you can either cook your beans and add them to the rest of your crock pot when they’re finished cooking, or you can throw everything into the pot so it can start cooking.
  3. Assemble all of your ingredients in the crock pot and set it on low for at least 6 hours.  Stir every so often if possible.

Nutrition

Serves: 8 | Calories: 235 | Fat: 0.9 g | Sodium: 225 mg | Carbohydrates: 42.8 g | Fiber: 18.3 g | Protein: 15.7 g

Check back tomorrow for the recipe for my great-grandma’s cornbread.  It’s worth serving alongside this chili!

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Chili

  1. I love making veg chili. So many different things you can add to it! I have a recipe on my blog for chili with pumpkin to make it extra creamy 🙂

Leave a Reply

