Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage

It’s taken almost three month, but I’m finally beginning to feel really settled in the home I’m sharing with my boyfriend.  Naturally, feeling “settled” means it’s time for me to work on organizing our spaces so that they’re used efficiently without spending much (read: any) money.  Thus, I’ll be sharing some “Organizing My Life” posts over the next few months, just to show everyone how easy it is to make small changes for a saner, more organized life.

Today, I’m sharing my bag and purse storage method, which I’ve used for years.  In a perfect world, every purse/clothes/shoe lover would have his or her own Carrie Bradshaw Dream Closet, but that’s not reality.  My boyfriend and I share a large reach-in closet, and I occupy half of it, meaning that all of my purses, bags, totes, et cetera, must fit in that space.

How do I do it?  Meet the workhorse:

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

I received this tote a few years ago as a gift from my grandparents.  It’s enormous and sturdy, and is the ultimate beach bag, but it’s also the ultimate storage bag.

Now, I used to just throw all of my purses in here.  You could totally do that.  But then, you’ll end up losing your mind when you can’t find that one clutch you borrowed from your roommate and she needs back for her date in five minutes.  Here’s how I make the Bag of Bags Method more useful.

I started by pulling out all of my bags.  I identified which ones I needed fast access to — like clutches and my small cross-body — and set them aside.Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

Next, I collected all of the change purses, ID card holders, and other such small bags that I have collected over the years:

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

How did I end up with that much Vera Bradley?

I moved that stack into a big plastic storage bag.  The bag serves two uses: it protects them, but more importantly, it corrals them.

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

After that, I pulled out some of my nice bags that I don’t have to access regularly.

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

Fortunately, the top bag (a gift) came with its own storage bag.  So all of these are stored in there.  If I didn’t have one, I could also have used a pillow case.

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

Now comes the layering of my workhorse canvas bag.  I put my miscellaneous gym bags and totes at the bottom, because they’re sturdy and don’t need to be accessed frequently.  Next, I placed my plastic bag of small change purses alongside my clutches and cross-body so that I can quickly grab them if I need them.

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

Finally, I nestle the Cole Haan bag on top of everything else, not because I’ll use those bags frequently, but because I want them to have the least pressure on top of them.

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

The only bags that aren’t in here are my suitcases, my pack, and my overnight bag/toiletry bags.

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

The luggage stays in a closet downstairs, but the overnight bag sits atop the Bag of Bags for quick access.

Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

All in all, the fifteen minutes I spent organizing my bags has been well worth it.

What home organization projects have you been working on?  Feel free to share below!

 

 

Linking up today!

Link-Up
Link-Up
Link-Up
Link-Up
4 thoughts on “Organizing My Life: Space-Saving Bag Storage

Leave a Reply

