Wyatt Works - Cherry and Poplar Bench

Five on Friday

Getting up the motivation to share my Five this week has been more than a little bit difficult.  It’s been a rough few weeks for my family, and I’m working on playing catch-up, as well as dealing with a myriad of unfortunate events — but more on that another day.  Today, I’m sharing five things that are making my week a bit brighter.  Enjoy!

One | This week, my cousin Kip launched his new website for Wyatt Works!  Kip is an enormously talented woodworker who had an established business in Northern Virginia/DC/Maryland, but he and his wife recently moved to the Seattle, Washington area.  Check out his site for a look at his Fine Rustic Furniture or the Wyatt Works Facebook page.  He is incredible!

Wyatt Works - Cherry and Poplar Bench
Wyatt Works: A left over piece of Brazilian Cherry and carved Poplar legs

Two |  I can officially say that as of today, our garden is planted.  I’ve been rolling around in fertilizer and soil throughout the week planting last week’s beauties, and this afternoon, I planted two eggplant plants that L’s mother gave me (thank you if you’re reading this!).  My goal now is to keep them alive long enough for them to germinate.  We’ll see how this goes…

Herbs!  The only things that are worth photographing at the moment.
Herbs! The only things that are worth photographing at the moment.

Three | On Wednesday night, my friend Jesse transferred some money to me using Square Cash.  Such a cool app!  Square Cash enables you to email money to someone quickly without the hassle of routing numbers and Paypal authentication.  I got an email, put in my debit card information, and had the money pretty much instantly.  Awesome.

via
via

Four | While I worked on cleaning out my grandparents’ kitchen over the weekend, I found her recipe box.  It’s an old lucite box, and it’s had my mom and her brother’s baby pictures in it for as long as anyone can remember.  I framed the pictures for her, and I’m working on going through her recipes one-by-one.

IMG_20140523_203322

Five | Remember that baby shower we went to a few weeks ago?  Well, my friend Beth is {finally} in labor!  We are anxiously awaiting the arrival of her baby boy.  Join me in sending good thoughts her way!

Last year at their wedding, two months before they got pregnant!
Last year at their wedding, two months before they got pregnant!

Want to join in on Five on Friday? Just write a post about five things you’re loving and/or want to share, slap the Five on Friday logo on the post, and link up on A.Liz Adventures, Carolina Charm, The Good Life, or Hello Happiness.

Leave a Reply

