Five on Friday

I’m happy to report that I am finally — finally — starting to feel like myself again.  I like to keep it positive over here, so when I’m having a rough time I tend not to post, but I’ll be back to regularly scheduled programming next week!  I’m starting the weekend off by attending a reception this evening, then tomorrow L and I are hoping to have his mother over for dinner.  Sunday we’ll put some serious work into our garden…we already need to weed!  It will be busy and beautiful, so I’m going to start it off the right way with five things I’m loving.

One | Somehow, I ended up trying on this Striped Tie Neck Dress at LOFT on Tuesday, and it both fit and looked cute!  I need to work on minimizing my chest a bit to be truly comfortable, but I got it for a fabulous price.  Count on LOFT to always be adorable.

via
via

Two | Since we’re on the subject of dresses… I helped my friend Holly pick out her wedding dress on Wednesday!  I’ll circumvent the spoilers, but it is beautiful and I am so excited for she and her fiance.  (Note…that’s not Holly)

via
via

Three | With the mercury rising, I’ve been looking for ways to quench my thirst.  My personal favorite?  My knock-off shaken passion tea lemonade.  I get a pitcher, fill it with water and Crystal Light lemonade, and toss in a few tea bags.  I’ve been using cranberry-pomegranate since I couldn’t find passion tea last time I was at the store.  Once the mixture is nice and pink, I pull the tea bags out, stir, and serve chilled.  Less than 10 calories per glass, and significantly less than whatever exorbitant price Starbucks charges!

via
via

Four | Earlier this week, I shared my friend Alexandra’s post about the Reading Rainbow kickstarter initiative.  I watched Reading Rainbow as a child and am passionate about LeVar Burton’s mission.  If you need a refresher, I highly recommend giving Alexandra’s blog post a read or heading straight over to the campaign pageChild literacy is something that everyone, regardless of political affiliation, should be able to get behind.

via
via

Five | If you follow me on Instagram, this is old news, but as a preview of coming attractions, I thought I’d share a post of last night’s dinner: a merlot-vegetable melange atop vegan cauliflower mash.  I’m working on coming up with a snappier title (unsuccessfully so far), but man oh man is this stuff decadent.  Better yet, it has a fantastically low calorie count!

instagram

Want to join in on Five on Friday? Just write a post about five things you’re loving and/or want to share, slap the Five on Friday logo on the post, and link up on A.Liz Adventures, Carolina Charm, The Good Life, or Hello Happiness.

2 thoughts on “Five on Friday

  1. hey gal! i am contacting people that linked up in the last 5 on friday linkup…that has since been put on hold for the summer. well…if you were interested, a friend of mine and i are starting it back up! the first one will be live this friday morning! prepare your post! 🙂 it’s going to be called “oh hey, friday!” it’ll be the exact same rules. write about five anythings. hope to see you there!

    karli
    http://farmerbell.blogspot.com

    • Hey there! I just saw this — I didn’t post on Friday this week, but I’ll definitely link up next week! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

