Summer Reading List

As we’re almost halfway through June, this post is probably long overdue, but I think it’s work sharing anyway: a list of what’s in my reading queue for the summer.

Summer has always been a time of reading for me.  When I was younger, I would lie in bed all day perusing books that were new, as well as some old favorites.  Especially during college, summer was the time to read books I truly enjoyed, but now that I’m finished with school, reading is an everyday (okay, maybe not everyday) treat.

With that said, here are six books that I’m looking forward to devouring this summer.  I would love to know if you have read them, so please feel free to leave a comment — no spoilers please!  Hopefully, reviews of these are all forthcoming.

Summer Reading List
via

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Dark and divine is how this book has been described to me.  A post apocalyptic masterpiece, I received a copy from my grandmother.  It goes without saying that I am looking forward to delving into this one.

Summer Reading List
via

The Giver by Lois Lowry

I read this story in middle school and enjoyed it, but hadn’t given it much thought until I learned it was being transformed into a film.  The jury’s out on whether or not I’ll see the major motion picture, but I would love to give this book another go-round as an adult and see what else I get out of it.

Summer Reading List
via

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

Countless people have recommended this book to me, and anything that is awarded a Pulitzer Prize is worth considering reading.  I’m vaguely aware of the premise of the book, and the connection between art and narrative is appealing to me, especially after how much I loved The Swan Thieves.  A review of this is definitely incoming.

Summer Reading List
via

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

I loved Gone Girl, and when I read Alexandra’s review of an earlier Gillian Flynn novel, I knew it had to go on my reading list.  Alexandra is a great source of recommendations, so I trust her recommendation.  Sharp Objects is undoubtedly a page-turner.

Summer Reading List
via

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

One of my very best friends in college recommended this book to me and I just wasn’t ready for it.  Having read some of Atwood’s other work by now, I adore and respect her prose.  I’m ready to give Oryx and Crake another try — who doesn’t love a good dystopia?

Summer Reading List
via

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

This novel has been on my radar for awhile, but I’ve never gotten it onto my bookshelf.  I’ve remedied that and it’s time to return to Italy for a narrative that has provoked quite a bit of buzz.  All that I know about this novel is that it is a drama — but I’m okay with the rest remaining a mystery.

Feel free to follow me on Goodreads for up-to-date reviews and recommendations!

What’s on your reading list for the summer?  Share in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading List

  1. I loved Beautiful Ruins the first time I read it. I fell even harder the second time. It is the perfect book for summer- excited for you to experience it!

    • Thanks for letting me know! I’m in the middle of The Goldfinch now, but I will make sure I tackle that next!

Leave a Reply

