Five on Friday

How is it possible that June is nearly over?  I feel like it’s barely begun!  I’m working today and tomorrow, and we’re having L’s parents, sister, and her fiance over tomorrow evening.  I’m hopeful that on Sunday we can get some gardening done, and maybe even go to a local beach to play in the sun!  Here are my five for this week.

One | Last weekend, I scored two new dresses during Old Navy’s dress sale.  I wasn’t going to buy anything, but I need some new things to accommodate my shrinking waistline.  I spent less than $17.00 total on these beauties.

 via
via
 via
via

Two | This week, I went crazy for Trader Joe’s All-Natural Barbecue Sauce.  I know that a lot of food critics haven’t loved it, but I think the spice is great and it’s a good accompaniment to the chicken I’m trying to start eating for lunch during the days (more protein).  I could probably write an entire post about all of the different Trader Joe’s products I love — actually, I should put that on my “to-post” list.

 via
via

Three | On Monday, I started reading Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects and I finished it on Wednesday.  I really enjoyed the book, and I’m planning to post a review of it next week.  I heard about the book in Alexandra’s post about psychological novels, and I’ll be reading more books off of that list — Alexandra’s book recommendations are the absolute best.

via
via

Four | Wednesday night was date night, and we went to a local eatery for dinner and drinks.  I couldn’t wait to try Robin Hood Brewing Co.’s new Blunt Sword Breakfast Stout that debuted on Tuesday.  It’s rich with an edge of chocolate, and they were serving it on nitro, so the body was fantastic.  I’m not a big beer drinker the rest of the year, but during the summer I try to sample lots of new things with L, and I post a lot of them to Instagram!

robinhood

Five | My two favorite teams also made it into the Round of Sixteen in the World Cup.  I hadn’t watched soccer at all until I started watching the World Cup with L, and I’m really enjoying it.  Team USA (my #1) doesn’t play again until Tuesday, but Costa Rica (my #2) plays on Sunday, and you bet I’ll be watching that game!

 via
via

What about you, any fun plans for the weekend?  Tell me in the comments!

One thought on “Five on Friday

Leave a Reply

