About Me & Why I Blog

Happy Labor Day!  I decided to keep things extra light since it’s a holiday.  Enjoy this post, and the rest of your day!

Last week, I happened across Katie Elizabeth’s post, “About Me + Why I Blog.”  This post has circled through the blogosphere for the last few months, and I think it’s a fun way to get back into the swing of posting regularly.  I’ve gained some readership from my participation in Five on Friday and Oh Hey, Friday!, so there are some readers who may not know me.

Consider this post an opportunity to introduce new readers to both me and this blog, and to reconnect with my longtime audience.  Let me know what you think in the comments, and feel free to repost!

selfie

Name/Age/Location

My name is Robbin, and I’m a 24-year-old living in the State College, Pennsylvania area.  I grew up here, then moved to Indiana, Pennsylvania for college followed by a stint in Chapel Hill, North Carolina for graduate school.  I returned to Central Pennsylvania in December of last year after I graduated to be close to loved ones while I started my job hunt.

Family

I’m fortunate enough to have a small but loving family.  I’m an only child — I asked my mother why when I was little and all she said was, “One is fun.”  I guess she had her hands full?  My parents split up a couple of years ago, but I have close relationships with both of them.  I live with my boyfriend, “L,” and he’s essentially family as well.  He enjoys an air of mystery, so I avoid using his full name here, but maybe someday I will reveal his identity!

Work

As of now, I’m working part time as a desk assistant at Penn State University Libraries and part time at Loft.  I have a Master’s in library science, but since graduating in December, my goals have changed a lot.  I’m starting to redefine what I want, and more and more, I’m finding that I’m interested in library administration and leadership.  Who knows where things will go?

Hobbies

Cooking, reading, and traveling are the big ones.  I’m an avid home cook, I try to be a voracious reader, and I have a serious travel itch.  L and I recently booked our next vacation for the spring, and I’m having a hard time waiting!  Full details will be revealed once we have our in-country plans ironed out a bit more.

Favorite Food

Truly, I enjoy almost all food.  I’ve never seen a carbohydrate that I didn’t like.  That said, my favorite food is probably pizza.  You can do so much with it!  Traditional, pan, grilled, white, margherita, meatless, et cetera.  You can’t go wrong with a good pizza, and I could eat it every day without getting tired of it.  Sidenote: you haven’t lived until you’ve eaten an actual Italian pizza in Italy.  Go do it now if you haven’t already.

Favorite Color

Purple!  It has been since I was a little girl.

Standard Coffee Order

I keep it pretty simple.  Either iced coffee or normal with unsweetened almond milk and stevia.  Sometimes I’ll go crazy and add fat-free half-and-half.

Standard Bar Order

To be honest, I’m a huge fan of specialty cocktails, so I usually end up with those or a dark beer.  Some of my local favorites are the Z Bar Zen at The Deli, the Indecent Orchid at The Darkhorse, and Robin Hood Brewing Company’s Blunt Sword Breakfast Stout.  When in doubt, I order a red snapper.

Places I Shop

Obviously, Loft, but I’ll bargain hunt just about anywhere.  I have had consistently good luck at Old Navy lately, as well as Lane Bryant and Nordstrom Rack.  One major thing I miss about living in the Triangle (aside from the people and food) is the shopping.

Bedtime & Wake Up Time

So much variation here.  I wake up at 6:00am a few days a week to be at the library by 7:30, but I love sleeping in.  I’m in bed at whatever time I need to be to get 7-8 hours of sleep.  Given the time, I would sleep ten hours a night.

Beauty Products I Can’t Live Without

I’m a pretty low maintenance gal, but I make an effort to put on mascara and blush every day.  I have yet to find a mascara that I love — right now I’m using Maybelline’s Great Lash but I don’t love it, so please let me know if you have one you like a lot.  I adore my Nyx cream blush and the brand as a whole (no luck with the mascara, though…)

What I Blog About

Everything, I guess.  This blog started out as a library-focused professional website, but now I would classify it as a “lifestyle” blog.  I share book reviews, recipes, updates on my life, and highlight LibraryLand every so often.  I’m always up for new ideas, though, so feel free to share some!

First Blog I Read

Bombshell Beauty Blog — this was a blog about total beauty for women of any size.  The blog’s author, Sara Bartlett, has since started a new blog called The Pretty Intellectual.  I read BBB until Sara migrated, and now I read  The Pretty Intellectual.  Sara even wrote a post based on my question!

How Did I Start Blogging

I’ve always been interested in writing, so a blog was a natural step for me.  My first blog was hosted on Xanga years ago (God I hope it’s not still floating around in the surface web…), followed by a few more.  Cardigan-Clad Culinary is the longest-running incarnation of my writing, and the one that feels the most true to who I am.  I migrated over from robbinzirkle.wordpress.com in December 2013 and haven’t looked back!

Why I Blog

I have a lot to say.  I need a place to share my ideas and my life, and this is where I like to do it.  What I’ve found through Cardigan-Clad Culinary, however, is a great community full of people who feel the same way.  I have found phenomenal readers who contribute as much to this venue as I do.  I am so glad that I have this place to share my thoughts, and so glad that you’re here to read it.

Do you blog?  I highly recommend doing this yourself if you do!  Great opportunity for reflection!

3 thoughts on “About Me & Why I Blog

Leave a Reply

