Southwestern Panzanella

Let’s just clear the elephant in the room right now: I didn’t take enough pictures of this recipe.  In fact, I only took one.  On my phone.

Why? you might ask.

Well, I made this dinner for our anniversary.  So I was trying to be in the moment.  Trying to stay off my phone.  Trying to shove bites of this delicious creation into my mouth.

The first time I had panzanella was at Home D Pizzeria (our regular restaurant, if you haven’t noticed by how much I write about it).  Panzanella is, at its most basic, salad with bread in it.  Most panzanella –including Home D’s — has traditional antipasti ingredients like olives and artichokes and proscuitto mixed into greens with oil and vinegar and tossed with bread. Yum.

Why a southwestern panzanella, then?  Well, we had all of the stuff left over from our Labor Day Party, and I hate throwing away food.  So, a delicious Mexican-Mediterranean fusion meal was born.  The next time you have leftovers from taco night, I highly recommend giving this a whirl — it’s gratifying, but also very healthy.

panzanella

Southwestern Panzanella

Ingredients

  • 1 head romaine lettuce
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1/2 cup black beans, rinsed
  • 3 green onions
  • 2 ears corn, cooked
  • 1/2 olive demi-baguette (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 scoop stevia extract
  • 1 cup cilantro, washed and removed from stem.
  • 2 tablespoons garlic-infused olive oil
  • 1/3 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Note: I think any number of toppings would go well on this.  Avocado, cheese, and so on.  Add whatever you like!

Directions

  1. Begin by washing lettuce, tomato, and green onions.  Chop and dice into bite-size pieces, and add to a large serving bowl.
  2. Cut corn off of the ear, add kernels to your serving bowl.
  3. Cut bread into small pieces, but still large enough that they will hold up one the dressing is added.  Add to your bowl.
  4. Combine your remaining ingredients in a blender (I used my Magic Bullet) and blend until smooth.  Add half to the salad, mix well.  You can add more dressing if you like, I found that half was plenty.
  5. Serve!

Nutrition

2 (very generous) servings | 441 calories | 65 g carbs | 16 g fiber | 16 g protein

Leave a Reply

