Oven-Caramelized Onions

I’ve written in the past few weeks about my love for caramelized onions.  Because goodness gracious they are delicious.

20140904_205128

Nutty.

Soft.

Toasty.

Also, onions.  The staple of my kitchen.  That, along with garlic and mushrooms.  And tofu.

Caramelized onions are the starter for some of my favorite dishes, like stuffed eggplant and summer squash gratin.  But they take an hour of hanging out in the kitchen.  Because I can’t just go take a shower or work out while I’ve got something cooking on the stove.

Enter: my oven.  Below, I’ll describe the incredibly easy (though definitely not fast) process of caramelizing onions in the oven.  Your stomach will thank me!

20140904_153328

Oven-Caramelized Onions

Step one: Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  You’re going to want that thing hot unless you’re planning to keep the oven on for eighteen hours.

Step two: Chop up onions.  I used four pounds (no, that is not a typo) which filled my 13×9 pan to the brim.  I wanted to do as many as possible at once.  I like smallish strips so that they can go into anything.

Step three: Add equal parts butter and olive oil to the pan.  I used half a cup of butter and half a cup of olive oil.  No one said these were healthy.

Step four: If you have it available, toss in some sprigs of fresh thyme.  If not, no worries.

20140904_153316

Step five: Get that thing in the oven!  Cook for thirty minutes, take it out, stir, put it back in for thirty minutes.  Keep doing this until thing are brown and beautiful.  Mine took about two hours.

Step six: This is completely optional, but I wanted just a little bit of extra browning.  Once mine were done cooking, I turned off the heat but left the pan in the oven for an hour or so.  I ended up with some beautiful onions!

20140904_204302

Leave a Reply

