Chopped Thai Salad à la CCC

I’m a huge fan of the whole foods/power veggies movement.  Green smoothies? Check.  Chia seeds in my oatmeal?  Done.  Kale?  Ehhhh.

Don’t get me wrong, I love green vegetables.  Spinach is one of my favorite recipe add-ins after all!  But after an unfortunately failed attempt at making kale chips, I just could not get on board.

Enter A Pinch of Yum’s recipe for Chopped Thai Salad with Sesame Garlic Dressing.  I love Thai flavors, and I love salad.  Success.

As I was working through this recipe, however, I was alarmed by the quantity, the presence of cilantro (gross), and the requirement to pulverize beautiful soy beans.  So, I made some changes and I came up with something fundamentally similar, but still mine.  And you know what?  I think I like kale.

20140919_205039

Chopped Thai Salad

(Slightly) Adapted from A Pinch of Yum

Ingredients

  • 6 oz frozen shelled edamame
  • 5 cups cleaned and chopped kale
  • 2 large carrots
  • 1 yellow bell pepper (use any color you like!)
  • 3 green onions
  • 1 cup Trader Joe’s Thai Lime and Chili Cashews
  • 1 tablespoon garlic-infused olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon seasoned rice vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 inch fresh ginger, peeled
  • 1 tsp sriracha sauce

Instructions

  1. Cook your edamame according to package directions, then move immediately into cold water while you make the rest of the salad.
  2. Add chopped kale to a large mixing bowl.  Julienne your carrots (I love my Kuhn Rikon peeler) and chop your peppers and green onions.  Add them to the bowl.  Drain your edamame and add the beans as well.
  3. Blitz half of the nuts in a food processor until they are small, but not a paste.  Add this to the bowl of salad.
  4. In the same food processor dish (don’t rinse it out, you want any leftover bits of cashews), combine the olive oil, soy sauce, water, sesame oil, vinegar, honey, ginger, and sriracha.  Add your dressing to the bowl, and toss everything to coat.
  5. Split the salad between two dinner plates (or bowls, or whatever) and top with your reserved cashews.  Give your boyfriend the bottle of sriracha so he can overwhelm his tastebuds.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

