The Friday Five

Happy Friday!  I am unbelievably excited that the weekend is finally here, because it’s going to be an exciting one!  Tonight, I’m headed to a Silpada party, then tomorrow we’re going to breakfast at The Nake Egg Cafe to celebrate Teri and Maci’s birthdays.  Tomorrow night, it’s Cirque du Soleil, then Sunday is also L’s birthday.  So many birthdays!  I’m looking forward to giving him his present, but since he occasionally reads my blog I’ll with hold the details for now…

Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!
Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!

One | Remember when I was mysterious about what I was doing last Sunday?  Well, I ran my first 5k!  L and I did the Steps to Safety 5k, which supported the Centre County Women’s Resource Center.  It was unseasonably (read: ungodly) cold, and it got in my lungs, so I struggled.  The important thing is that I finished.  My next 5k is in November, so I’ve got time to practice more.

20141005_140033

Two | I’ve been reading a fair amount about skin care recently, and this week, I finally bought my first anti-aging moisturizer.  I know I’m really young to be worried about wrinkles, but I firmly believe that it’s never too early to take care of my skin.  I picked Eucerin’s Q10 Anti-Wrinkle Skin Creme, which I’m liking a lot so far.  My next product will probably be a retinoid to help maintain my collagen.

via
via

Three | I was thrilled to see that my office is decorated for Halloween!  We have a group coming in next week, so we’re going to go all-out after they leave.  I think the giant spider and skeleton are great, though!

20141006_122746

Four | Wednesday night, I discovered Yet Another Mail Merge.  It’s a Gmail add-on that enables mail merges in Gmail.  I had to send out a bunch of emails to businesses soliciting donations for a fundraiser my club is having, and YAMM was a major time-saver.

via
via

Five | I started reading In the Garden of Beasts this week.  The author, Erik Larson, also wrote The Devil in the White City, which I loved, and I’m hoping that I’ll love this one too.  In case you haven’t read it: “The time is 1933, the place, Berlin, when William E. Dodd becomes America’s first ambassador to Hitler’s Germany in a year that proved to be a turning point in history...”  (PS, thanks Goodreads).  So far, it’s interesting in a dark way.  Look for a review of this one in the near future!

via
via
One thought on “The Friday Five

  1. I am so glad you posted about that book — it will be perfect for my husband whose birthday is approaching. He, too, loved The Devil In The White City. Thanks for helping me with one of his gifts! And also, thanks for linking up with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

