The Friday Five

…And just like that, another week flew by.  Where on Earth has October gone?  We spent last weekend visiting my family in Virginia, then this week playing catchup.  This weekend promises to be a good one: fondue night tonight, Penn State vs. OSU tomorrow, and the JWC Halloween Social on Sunday.  L and I know how to stay busy!

Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!
Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!

One | While we visited my family in Virginia, we got to see my Grandma Jane.  Unfortunately, her health is not good at all (a topic for another post), but I’m trying to cherish every minute I get to spend with her.  We spent an afternoon playing bingo and joking around.  While we were in Virginia, we also got to see my aunt, uncle, cousins, and my paternal grandparents.  It was fabulous to visit with everyone — I wish that we could do it more frequently.

WP_20141018_15_23_11_Pro

Two | Over the weekend and throughout the week, I sported my new Ahead of the Curve Earrings by Silpada.  I bought these at a friend and coworker’s Silpada party a few weeks ago and I am in loooove.  They’re substantial, shiny, and don’t irritate my ears.

via
via

Three | On Monday, my mom, L and I went to see Gone Girl.  I was definitely impressed by Rosamund Pike — she leapt into the role, and I didn’t think that performance could come out of Jane from the 2005 Pride and Prejudice.  The producers stayed true to the book for the most part, which I appreciated.  Nice work, GG.

via
via

Four | Wednesday was a weird day, so L and I split a big bottle of Southern Tier’s Warlock Imperial Stout over dinner.  That dark malty taste blended with the pumpkin tones was amazing, and it is by far my favorite pumpkin beer to date.  If you like dark beers and you like pumpkin, you have to try it.

20141022_202908

Five | On a not-so stellar note, I’m now on the hunt for a new anti-aging lotion.  A few weeks ago, I posted about my love for the Eucerin lotion, but then it started making me break out.  Fortunately, Ulta has a generous return policy, so I am going to swing by and return it and hopefully pick up something new…More details to come!

via
via
Leave a Reply

