A-Z Bookish Survey

A few weeks ago I was perusing my Twitter feed and found a link to A Field of Heather’s entry, “A-Z Bookish Survey.”  Apparently this survey has been making its way around the book blogging community, so I’m going to join the cacophony.  Enjoy, and pass along!

via
via

Author you’ve read the most books from: J.K. Rowling.  I’ve read all seven Harry Potter books, The Tales of Beedle the Bard, and The Casual Vacancy.

Best sequel ever: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest from Stieg Larsson’s Millennium Trilogy.  So satifying and masterfully written.

Currently reading: In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson.

Drink of choice while reading: Merlot, preferably South African

Ereader or physical book: No preference.  My Nook is convenient, but I borrow physical books all the time.

Fictional character that you probably would have dated in high school: Given my choice, probably someone like Magid Iqbal from Zadie Smith’s White Teeth; smart, cultured, and assertive.  Essentially L in book form 🙂

Glad you gave this book a chance: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan.  I haven’t read juvenile fiction since elementary school (except for Harry Potter), but I read this and its sequels last summer.  I was pleasantly surprised by how strongly rooted in mythological studies the books are.  They’re well-written, and I recommend them to lots of reluctant readers.

Hidden gem book: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon.  Seriously, go pick it up.

Important moment in your reading life: Reading my mom’s copy of The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown.  It was one of the first books that we had both read and could talk about, and it was my first entry into fiction for adults.  I distinctly remember the thrill when I finished the last page.

Just finished: Shutter Island by Dennis Lehane.

Kind of books you won’t read: Celebrity biographies.  No thanks.

Longest book you read: So far, A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin (third in the Song of Ice and Fire series)

Major book hangover because of: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  Augustus and Hazel need to be my neighbors.

Number of bookcases you own: Two half-shelves and two full shelves.  Most of my physical book collection is still at my dad’s house.

One book you’ve read multiple times: I’ve re-read Catching Fire a few times because I really enjoy Suzanne Collins’ conception of Panem.

Preferred place to read: Bed.  I love to linger over a book there on Sunday afternoons.

Quote that inspires you: “I don’t know where I stand in the world. I don’t know who I am. That’s why I read–to find myself” (Judy Blume quoting a 13-year-old in her speech, Is Puberty a Dirty Word?)

Reading regret: The First Phone Call from Heaven by Mitch Albom.  It was a book club pick, and I just didn’t buy into it.  Christian fiction isn’t for me.

Series you started that you need to finish: Joanne Fluke’s Hannah Swensen series.  It’s my guilty pleasure.

Three of your all-time favourite books: Three I haven’t mentioned so far: The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett, The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde, and Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver.

Unapologetic fangirl for: The A Song of Ice and Fire (AKA Game of Thrones) series.  Gimme book six, George R.R. Martin!

Very excited for this release: The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon.  Cannot. Wait.

Worst bookish habit: Falling asleep with the light on while I’m reading in bed.

X marks the spot! Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book: Jane Austen’s Little Advice Book by Cathryn Michon and Pamela Norris.

Your last bookish purchase: Goodnight Moon written by Margaret Wise Brown and illustrated by Clement Hurd.  Purchased for my little honorary nephew 🙂

Zzz-snatcher. Which book kept you up way too late? A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.  I distinctly remember staying up until 4 a.m. on a school night in high school to finish it.

 

3 thoughts on “A-Z Bookish Survey

  1. This was so good! Think I need to expand my choice of books – I tend to stick to authors and genres I know I like! Interesting to know what books you have or haven’t enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

