Beauty All-Stars

I like to think I’m a low-maintenance gal; it takes me all of ten minutes in the morning to do both my hair and makeup, and I’m definitely not a product junkie. In fact, I subscribe to Ipsy sporadically – maybe once or twice a year I will purchase a bag. Being low-maintenance doesn’t mean I’m lazy – I like to think I look put together when I need to – it just means I’ve simplified my routine.

via
via

The key to being low-maintenance and put-together? Having an arsenal of All-Star beauty products and tools that are consistent and awesome. Here is a list of my “must-haves,” most of which have been on my list for years. By no means is this complete: I’m still on the hunt for the perfect budget-friendly BB cream, mascara, eyebrow stuff, shampoo, conditioner, and more.  That said, enjoy my list — and add your own in the comments!

Caramex Lip Balm | $1.59

via
via

I’ve tried so.many.lip.balms. And you know what? Good old Caramex still beats all of them. That cute Eos thing? Moisture-sucker. Burt’s Bees? Meh. Caramex is thick and moisturizing and is loaded with SPF. I buy it in multi-packs and keep a tube in every purse.

Nyx Cream Blush in Natural | $6.99

via
via

This was an Ipsy find, and I adore it. I wasn’t sure about cream blush, but this blends beautifully and stays on my skin all day. The shade I like gives me a little bit of flush, but there are a lot more shades to try.

Revlon Colorstay Eyeliner in Black-Brown | $7.99

via
via

I have been buying this eyeliner since high school, and every time I’ve tried something different, it’s been inferior. This eyeliner doesn’t melt and/or disappear. It blends a little bit, but not so much that it rubs off. My only caveat with this one is that you absolutely must use eye makeup remover (or lotion) to get it off completely.

Body Shop Paddle Hair Brush | $12.00

via
via

Look, I know, it’s just a hair brush. But I’ve had this thing for ten years and it’s still my favorite brush. It’s sturdy and wooden, easy to clean, and doesn’t tangle or pull my hair. Added bonus? It doesn’t seem to flatten my curls as much as other brushes do.

Revlon Top Speed Nail Enamel in Chili | $5.39

via
via

This nail polish is absolutely my go-to. It’s the perfect red – firey with a hint of orange. I get so many compliments on it, and it’s got top coat built in. This is probably on my toenails throughout ¾ of the year. Bonus? It dries so quickly that I can’t smudge it everywhere.

What are your beauty All-Stars?

3 thoughts on “Beauty All-Stars

  1. I love it! It’s pretty hard to find budget-friendly (and widely available in case you’re on a trip and run out of something) beauty products. And since I know you have sensitive skin, I can’t imagine how much harder it is!

    For the BB cream, have you tried Garnier’s BB cream? I haven’t looked at the list of ingredients but I tried it for a while and really liked it! It’s sheer, and the lightest color worked well for me. Olay also came out with a BB cream, but I haven’t looked at those ingredients either. I think I tried one of the 2 shades in the store and found that neither of them worked.

    • I will have to look into those. I’ve been using Rimmel, and I like it, but I’m not sure it’s The One. I recently discovered that Ulta will take returns for 30 days after purchase as long as the container is half full, so I’m inclined to try some things!

Leave a Reply

