The Friday Five

Happy weekend!  We have an action-packed weekend planned at each of my parents’ houses, plus lots more to do around the house.  I’m really hoping we will have time to move furniture into the new office during what time we have at home, but we shall see.

Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!
Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!

One | We have a super deep mattress and finally found sheets that wrap the whole way under the bed.  When I say “super deep,” I mean that 18 inch sheets don’t do the trick. Fortunately, these Threshold Performance Sheets are deep, soft, and a great price.  I have my eye on another queen set, but this time in yellow.

CaptureTwo | L also put up our new blinds last weekend. They totally change the feel of the room.  I think it’s much more polished, and I love the look of the wide slats and valance with molding. They were pricier than I would have liked, but still worth it.  L knocked it out of the park.

Three | On Tuesday night, L and I went to see The Chieftans and they were outstanding.  The Chieftans are a traditional Irish music group.  Their show includes dancers, singing, music, and more, and they included a number of local groups, including the Nittany Valley Children’s Choir, Shriners, and the McGinley School of Dance. They also featured the Next Generation Leahys, who are basically the Von Trapp Family.  Even without all of the accompanying guests, The Chieftans were phenomenal and I had a great time.

Four | I’m still trying to figure out shoes for my trip. I have my Merrell sneakers which are great for hiking around, but I would like a nice pair of black mary janes to wear to dinner and such that have arch support.  I struck out with Dansko’s Nanette mary janes and Clark’s Feature Film flats.  Back to the drawing board.

Five | For my new recipe next week, I’m hoping to try Foodie with Family‘s Chickpea Tikka Masala.  I think it will be a hearty and different dish, and I will probably fill it with mushrooms as well.  Yum!

Leave a Reply

