The Friday Five

Happy Friday, everyone! I hope your Fridays go beautifully. I’m feeling under the weather, so let’s keep this short and sweet.

Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!
Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!

10348389_10108360217998004_6155336912836942501_nOne | Last weekend, my club went to the Maple Harvest Festival at the Shaver’s Creek Environmental Center. It ended up being a lot of fun – we saw the maple syrup process and got to see an exhibition of some of the center’s injured raptors, like the barred owl above.

Friends & Farmers Co-Op

Two | On Monday, I sat in on a presentation by the Friends and Farmers Co-Op. The group is planning to establish a brick-and-mortar store for local produce, baked goods, and other products. I’m seriously considering purchasing an equity share — they have done a great job of building a business model that I think is going to succeed.

Instagram
Instagram

Three | I spent some time the other evening paging through Jerusalem, which I have checked out from Penn State Libraries. I’m looking forward to making some of these dishes, most of which are vegetarian!

Instagram
Instagram

Four | Wednesday night was the 2015 Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering Senior Recognition Banquet and my boss invited me to go. It was a great event that brought together students, people from industry, faculty, and staff.  Six students received awards and gave speeches. It was so special to hear their stories and to see them rewarded for their hard work.

Buzzfeed

Five | Finally, this Buzzfeed article, “14 Women Tell Us Why They Wear Makeup,” is an excellent read. I don’t think women should feel like they have to wear makeup, but I certainly enjoy doing so, even if L thinks I’m perfect without it.

Leave a Reply

