The Friday Five: On the Road Edition

Good morning! Today’s Five come as L and I zip down I-81. Nothing like a road trip to get the blog posting juices flowing! We’re going to spend the weekend reconnecting with friends and family while cleaning things out of my grandparents’ house.

Before I go into my Five, one last thing: Monday is Memorial Day. I want to take one minute to thank everyone who has served or is serving in the United States Armed Services. You keep us safe and and you give me hope. Thank you.

image
<a href="http://www.northcarolinacharm.com/">Five on Friday</a> / <a href="http://farmerbell.blogspot.com/">Oh Hey, Friday!</a>

image

One | On Monday, I helped host the Junior Woman’s Club End-of-Year Banquet. One of my favorite things about this event is when we present our fundraising check to our beneficiary. This year, we were able to donate more than $7,000 to Housing Transitions, Inc.!

Two | During the banquet, I presented an outgoing officer with an engraved picture frame from Things Remembered. I’ve never purchased from them before, but I will do it again. The price was reasonable ($24.00 before tax), the quality was excellent, and it was finished in less than 24 hours! The recipient loved it and passed it around for everyone to see.

image
<a href="http://food52.com/blog/12977-how-to-make-lemon-curd">Via Kelsey Tenney</a>

Three | I want to give a big shoutout to my friend Kelsey who writes Appeasing a Food Geek. Kelsey is a food scientist and explains complex chemical processes in her cooking in such an accessible way. As a bonus, her recipe was featured on Food52.com this week!

Four | This week I listened to Season One of Serial. What an addicting Podcast! If you are into murder-mysteries, you should definitely check it out.

image

Five | Today we get to see Michelle! She is one of my very best friends and I can’t wait for our reunion!

Leave a Reply

