Chickpea Salad

One of the most frequent questions I get asked when I mention that I don’t really eat meat is “how do you get your protein?” First, let me assure you, we (L and I) are not malnourished. Second, there are so many great proteins out there that aren’t meat. Case in point: chickpeas. They’re cheap, they’re tasty, and a cup packs in 14.5 grams of protein. Not too shabby.

Chickpea Salad | Cardigan-Clad CulinaryToday’s recipe was borne out of my desire for chicken salad, and the fact that I don’t actually like chicken that much. I’ve seen chickpea salads like this yummy recipe from Veggie Inspired, so I decided to try my own. I highly recommend using a food processor to get evenly chopped items and save yourself a ton of time. That’s what I did, and this whole recipe took less than 10 minutes start-to-finish.

My friend Holly recommended the cashews and apples you’ll find in this recipe – full credit to her there. I think the key to this recipe tasting as hearty as it does, however, is the smoked paprika. If you don’t have some in your cupboard already, drive to your local Trader Joe’s right.now. and pick some up for $1.99. I’ll wait.

Chickpea Salad | Cardigan-Clad CulinaryChickpea Salad
Serves: 6
Time: 10 minutes

 Ingredients

  • 1 small red onion
  • 1 stalk celery
  • .75 granny smith apple
  • 1 oz roasted cashews
  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed
  • .25 cup miracle whip
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Chop the first four ingredients up into similarly-sized pieces using a food processor, taking care not to over-process. Remove to a bowl.
  2. Process 1/3 of the chickpeas in the food processor. Add processed chickpeas and whole chickpeas, lemon juice, and spices to your bowl.
  3. Mix everything well and adjust seasonings to taste. I didn’t have fresh dill handy, but it would have been amazing in this. Grapes would have been great too.
  4. Serve over bread, pita, tortilla, greens, or with nothing at all!

 Nutrition

Serving size: ½ cup (heaping)

138 calories | 5 g fat | 19 g carbs | 5 g fiber | 3 g sugar | 6 g protein

Chickpea Salad | Cardigan-Clad Culinary

Linking up to Buns in my Oven!

Leave a Reply

