Five on Friday

Happy Friday, everyone! I have another action-packed weekend planned: tonight, I’m headed up toward Erie to celebrate my friend Melissa with a bridal shower and bachelorette party! I hope to come back with lots of pictures and a recap of gifts and favors I’ve made. Before I go though, I wanted to share some things that I’ve loved this week…

Snapping video before @jessecbrown can ruin my shot. #fire #firepit #outdoors

A post shared by Robbin Zirkle (@robbin410) on

One | Last weekend, we got to use the fancy firepit that Mom gave L for Christmas. Our friends Holly and Jesse came over, and it was great to relax and laugh by the fire.

 

Two | I almost teared up when I saw this tweet from J. K. Rowling. The Harry Potter series was a huge part of my youth, and played an integral role in my love for reading. She finally responded to people telling her how devastated they were when they didn’t get their letters.

via

Three | Can we talk about how difficult it is to find comfortable, cute sandals when you have Sasquatch feet? I have had such a tough time finding a pair of flat black sandals to replace mine from last year. I ordered these cute crochet sandals from Payless, but I know they won’t last for more than a season… I would love to get another pair of Piper Sandals in black, but they’re spendy… still, I might suck it up and buy some because I have brown Piper slip-ons and adore them.  What are your thoughts

via

Four | I dug out my favorite summer recipe this week: summer squash gratin à la Alexandra Cooks.  I’ve mentioned before how much I enjoy this recipe, but it was even better this time.  I think swapping in whole wheat breadcrumbs and making caramelized onions in advance made a tremendous difference.  Yum! Note: I only use 1/4 cup breadcrumbs, 1/4 cup parmesan, and 1 tablespoon of butter in my topping.

via

Five | I saw this photo earlier this week and adore the color on the walls. It’s by Sherwin Williams and it’s called dancing green. I think it would be gorgeous in our kitchen or our bathroom, but I’m not sure it’s quite to L’s taste… Regardless, I’ve got at least three other projects that need to be taken care of before I can even think about painting again.

Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!
Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!
Leave a Reply

