Make-Ahead Appetizer: Roasted Garlic and Tomato Hummus

If you follow me on Instagram, you may have seen this delicious post on Friday night:

 

That, my friend, is a batch of delicious, velvety hummus made in my very kitchen (enhanced using VSO Cam…). It’s spiked with two of my favorite ingredients: roasted garlic, and roasted tomatoes.  Yum.

Homemade hummus is one of my favorite indulgences.  By its nature, it’s quite caloric, but it packs plenty of protein and is difficult to inhale.  When I’m entertaining, it’s a favorite appetizer because I can assemble it ahead of time, then drizzle some olive oil over the top and toss some dill on it just before guests show up.

If you want to get really fancy, you can peel your chickpeas. It’s a bit labor intensive, but my friend Mariana showed me the difference it makes in a homemade hummus, and it’s definitely worth it if you have the time. Obviously, this is with canned chickpeas — I have no idea how dry work. An experiment for another day.

A note on ingredients: tahini will set you back $7+ per jar (at least in Happy Valley), but will give you at least ten batches of hummus.  I end up getting more out of the jar because I don’t like the overwhelming flavor of tahini. Spring for the organic stuff with one ingredient (sesame seeds). You’ll thank me.

Hummus in its unfiltered glory
Hummus in its unfiltered glory

Roasted Garlic and Tomato Hummus*

Ingredients

  • 2 cans organic chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 head garlic
  • 16 oz. cherry tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Lots of freshly-ground black pepper

*Recipe for a double-batch.  I make this much when I’m serving a crowd, or when I want leftovers for us to take to work throughout the week.  Feel free to cut in half.

Directions

  1. Roast your garlic and tomatoes.  I preheat the oven to 375, prepare my garlic in aluminum foil, set it in the middle of a 9×9 pan, and surround it with cherry tomatoes tossed in oil. Then I roast everything for 45 minutes – 1 hour.
  2. Blend it all up. Add the chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, roasted garlic and tomatoes, olive oil, half the salt, and a fair amount of pepper.  Blend on high speed until things are smoothing out nicely.  Taste, and adjust seasonings as needed. I ended up at 1 tsp of salt and ~2 tbsp of freshly cracked pepper, but that’s to my taste and based on the ingredients I have.
  3. Let it sit. This is a recipe that benefits from sitting overnight.  I refrigerated mine in the dish I was serving in, then took it out about thirty minutes before our guests arrived. I finished it with a drizzle of olive oil (the top dries out) and some sprigs of fresh dill.

 

Leave a Reply

