The Friday Five

FRIDAY.  Guys, it’s finally here.

To say this week has been a kicker would be putting it mildly.  I’ve been covering for three other people this week. At the end of today, I’m either going to need a lobotomy, or the world’s largest glass of wine.  Or both.

via

This weekend looks promising.  Tomorrow, we’re probably going to work on moving some things into our house, and on Sunday, we plan to see L’s parents. I’m hoping for a reasonably quiet weekend. For now, here are my five.

Appeasing A Food Geek

One | I hosted Supper Club on Tuesday, and my friend Kelsey from Appeasing A Food Geek brought over some of her leftover birthday cake!  She made an almond vanilla cake with pink champagne buttercream and homemade sprinkles.  So decadent, but a small pieces are easily defeated by the elliptical.  She shared her recipe, so you should definitely check it out!

via

Two | The Nordstrom Anniversary Sale is almost over, but I’m still toying around with maybe treating myself to a set of Voluspa ‘Maison Blanc’ candles.  They smell divine, burn for fifty hours, and are made with coconut wax and essential oils. They’re a bit pricey by my standards, but I really want them…

Impromptu date night! #relax #statecollegespikes #spikes

A post shared by Robbin Zirkle (@robbin410) on

Three | Last night we decided at the last minute to go to a State College Spikes Game with our friends Drew and Sarah.  It was dollar beer night, and not very crowded.  I don’t care much for baseball, but we did well, and we got to catch up with our friends.

via

Four | I’ve really been trying to keep up with my one new recipe a week goal. This week, I think it will be these Roasted Mushrooms with Garlic & Thyme.  It looks like a great accompaniment for my favorite summer squash gratin, and I can swap in basil for thyme since I have approximately a metric ton of basil right now.

Five | I’m liking this list of historical fiction for early teens.  I’ve actually only read The Book Thief from this list, but some of these sound interesting. I’m not above reading young adult fiction — as long as it’s well-written, it’s fair game for me.

Have a great weekend!

Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!
Five on Friday / Oh Hey, Friday!
Leave a Reply

