Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

The word “simple” could be used to describe most of my recipes.  I think that a few good ingredients are the key to a delicious, healthy dish. Sure, there are curries and casseroles in my repertoire, but my favorite dishes are like this one: with a little bit of time and love, a few simple ingredients come to life.

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa
Processed with VSCO Cam

I bought a tomatillo plant last year at Tait Farm with my tomato plants on a whim. My tomatillo grew strong and straight, but my tomatillos never matured into their husks. At the end of the season, I had enough fruit for one batch of salsa…but it. was. delicious.

This year, when I swung by Tait after work to grab my babies, I got another tomatillo, determined to try again, and it’s working out beautifully! So far, I’ve had enough tomatillos for two batches of salsa, and I should be able to get a few more out of it before the end of the season. So rewarding.

My Roasted Tomatillo Salsa takes a little bit of time to make, but the results are delicious.  There is depth from the roasting process, zip from the lime juice, freshness from the cilantro I’ve blitzed into it.  Make it up at your next party and serve alongside some hearty chips, and I can guarantee you’ll have an empty bowl!

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

  • Several cups tomatillos (Use as much as you can get your hands on)
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1-2 jalapenos
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • .5 cup cilantro, pulled off of stem
  • Juice of one lime
  • Dashes of salt, pepper, and cumin

Directions

  1. Take your tomatillos out of the husk. Cut your onion and jalapeno in half, smash up your garlic. Clean everything under water, then toss in a baking dish. Spritz with olive oil, then roast at 425 for 45 minutes to an hour, turning halfway through. Everything should be blackened on the ends and soft on the inside.

salsa

2. Pile your veggies (including any liquid remaining in the pan), cilantro, and half of your lime juice in a food processor and blitz.  Next, add your spices, and blitz again.  Taste it.  If it needs more acid, add lime juice — avoid salt. You don’t need the sodium, especially when you’re serving it alongside salty chips!

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

Notes

If you don’t have the space or desire to grow tomatillos, you can still whip up this salsa. Most well-stocked produce sections have tomatillos, as do many international grocers.

The recipe makes about 1 1/2 cups of salsa at best. Make it in small batches as you need it, as this won’t keep well.

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

3 thoughts on “Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

Leave a Reply

