The Friday Five

Happy Friday! What a whirlwind of a week. Next week marks the start of classes, which means this weekend is move-in weekend. I’ll be hiding at home all weekend avoiding crazy traffic and catching up on cleaning and gardening. Both are overdue, and strangely enough, I’m looking forward to it. Cleaning and gardening just feel so productive…

via

via

One | Last Saturday I met my mom in Altoona where I picked up some new walking shoes for my upcoming vacation. Finding something in my shoe size (11-12) that is high-quality and doesn’t look orthopedic is tough, so I was thrilled when I tried out some Cobb Hill FreshExcel lace ups. They’re much cuter in person, and I was thrilled that Lasser’s actually charged less than I found them for online. Win-win!

via

Two | On Sunday, L spent the day white water rafting with our friend Drew for his bachelor party. Since we were both free, my friend (and Drew’s fiancé) Sarah and I went to see Inside Out. I had heard it was really cute, but I was pleasantly surprised by how good it was. There was definitely some higher-level thinking in the plot, and it was interesting to see how they broke down the complexity of human emotions. Definitely a good movie for viewers of all ages!

via

Three | For the last few weeks, I’ve been planning to make these Pesto-Parmesan Baked Tomatoes but this weekend it is absolutely happening, if for no other reason than that I have some pretty heirlooms courtesy of my friend Shea. I even bought some nice parmesan to use!

Four | Earlier this week, I watched this video of baby bats being swaddled. I find bats both fascinating and adorable… they get a bad rap! They’re largely harmless creatures that do tremendous good for the world’s farmers. If you ever have some time and interest, this episode of Stuff You Should Know explains many of the reason that bats are (1) awesome and (2) misunderstood.

11212608_10108630093789754_5859748180833769461_o

Five | Hopefully this weekend I can work through my backlog and work on scheduling some blog posts. I still haven’t done a recap of our South Korea/Japan trip from this past spring, and I have read several books lately. I would like to get at least the next few weeks written up… here’s hoping!

Leave a Reply

