2016 Reading Challenge

Happy New Year!  I hope that your 2016 is off to a fabulous start. I know mine is.

One of my favorite things to do at the beginning of each calendar year is to assess my reading progress for the previous year. I do this using Goodreads, where I attempt to track each book I read. Despite gaps in posting, I did manage to surpass my goal of reading one book per month this year – I managed to read 15 books in total. Not impressive, but the best I could do with everything (work/family/cohabitation/home ownership) considered.

While perusing Facebook earlier today, I happened across a post sharing the 2016 Reading Challenge from Modern Mrs. Darcy. in the past, I’ve always had a reading goal for a number of books to read (generally one or two per month), but I’ve never given any consideration to categories for the books that I’ve read.

MMD

This year, rather than increasing the volume of books that I’m reading (unrealistic at this point), I’m going to be more intentional with the categories of books that I’m reading. It’s my hope that taking on Modern Mrs. Darcy’s 2016 Reading Challenge will help me to make more time to read, and to mix it up some.

To help me track my MMD 2016 Reading Challenge progress, I’ve created a Goodreads shelf that I’m going to use to track my progress for each of these categories. Regardless, the challenge is an interesting experiment – comment if you decide to take the challenge, too!

5 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

