2016 Reading Challenge Round-Up

coffee-1242653_960_720

Back at the beginning of 2016, I decided to embark on something I had never tried before: a formal, thematic reading challenge. Sure, I had completed the Goodreads Reading Challenge (certain numbers of books), and I had participated in book clubs, but a thematic reading challenge was foreign to me. I have always been inspired by readers like Alexandra, who set ambitious goals for their reading. I wanted to give it a whirl.

Then, on January 2nd, I found the Modern Mrs. Darcy 2016 Reading Challenge.  It was perfect. It was intimidating. It was challenging. Obviously.

And so, I declared to the Internet World that I was going to complete it – and complete it I have.

It’s worth noting that one wrench was thrown into my reading challenge, and that was starting a job at a library.  Now, I have tempting things dancing around all the time to read. I get Reader’s Advisory from my colleagues constantly. And it. Is. Awesome. But can also make completing a reading challenge difficult!  I’ve read much more this year than in years past, but it’s been all over the place thematically.

As for 2017, I’m looking forward to seeing what Anne Bogel of Modern Mrs. Darcy comes up with.  Given my positive experience this year, maybe I’ll try it again!

 2016 MMD Reading Challenge*

  1.  A book published this year: Mother, Can You Not? by Kate Siegel
  2.  A book you can finish in a day: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling
  3.  A book you’ve been meaning to read: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling
  4.  A book recommended by our local librarian: The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
  5. A book you should have read in school: The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
  6. A book chosen for you by your partner: Leviathan Wakes by James S.A. Corey
  7. A book published before you were born: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  8. A book that was banned at some point: Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  9. A book you previously abandoned: Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
  10. A book you own by have never read: Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire
  11. A book that intimidates you: Reading Lolita in Tehren by Azar Nafisi
  12. A book you’ve already read at least once: The Giver by Lois Lowry

 

*Reviews coming soon – I’m doing the best I can!  I’ll update this post as I get reviews up on the blog.

 

How far have you gotten in your 2016 reading goals? There’s still plenty of time!

10 thoughts on “2016 Reading Challenge Round-Up

Leave a Reply

