Review: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

41899
via

Let’s keep it light today, shall we?

J.K. Rowling’s Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is today’s read, and it’s been on my list for a while.  If you haven’t read it already, Goodreads explains:

A copy of Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them resides in almost every wizarding household in the country. Now Muggles too have the chance to discover where the Quintaped lives, what the Puffskein eats and why it is best not to leave milk out for a Knarl.

I give Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them four out of five stars.

This was my Reading Challenge pick for “A Book You’ve Been Meaning to Read.” And by “meaning to read,” I mean since it came out in 2001.  Anything Harry Potter-universe related is right up my alley! When I found out this was being made into a spinoff movie, I knew I needed to accelerate my plans to read the book (15 years after it first came out).

J.K. Rowling is back at it with the universe, coloring in what we need to know about various magical creatures in the Wizarding World. As always, her prose is descriptive, imaginative, and a little bit tongue-in-cheek.  This isn’t precisely a book you would read cover to cover if you were using it in real life (i.e., if you were a witch or wizard), as it’s written as a reference book.  But, it is actually pretty delightful if you do read it that way. What a nice way to jump back into the Wizarding World!

My primary criticism of this book is that its descriptions are a bit shallow. I wanted more information than I got about these creatures when reading the core Harry Potter books, and I didn’t feel like that depth was there. Too bad, because otherwise, it’s a really great companion book! I also feel like this is one that she should have waited to publish until she had finished the series. There are many fantastic beasts excluded!

Regardless, for a Harry Potter lover, this is a good pick if they haven’t found it already.

Leave a Reply

