The Friday Five

Happy Friday! It’s been a wild weather week around these parts.  Snow on Tuesday, ice on Wednesday, and 55 degree temps plus torrential downpours on Thursday.  Mother Nature, can you please make up your mind so I can figure out which coat to wear to work, and so the library can stay open long enough for me to get work done?

This weekend is going to be a busy one, with a big first birthday party for my friend’s son Isaac, then work on Sunday.  It’s a busy time of year for us, and it looks like I’ve got something going on every weekend day, whether work or extracurricular, through the end of the month.

maxresdefault
via

One | Have you watched The Crown on Netflix? If not, get thee to your television and turn it on.  It’s my current elliptical-watching show, and I am liking it a lot. Granted, I like moody TV and British period dramas, so it’s right up my alley.  I feel like Netflix hit a home run with this original series.

img_2016_01_24_07152-2
via

Two | For Christmas, I received the Love and Lemons Cookbook.  This week, I tried my first recipe from it: Broccoli Lemon Caper Quinoa, and it was excellent.  Roasted broccoli and chickpeas, quinoa, parmesan, homemade pesto, lemon zest, and capers. It was light and filling.  I dialed back the nuts in it and only used half of the pesto, but I will definitely make it again.

1404028a-5aca-4618-baac-d3477f4cf6e9_1-86e4113584006367ad6b8e775727b96b
via

Three | Last week, I got my Fitbit, and I am so pleased that I’ve been hitting my goals every day for steps.  My friends Holly and Jesse invited me into their Workweek Hustle, and it’s definitely been helping me stay motivated to get moving every day.  Hopefully, I can stay active this weekend!

714qqmkv8wl-_sl1500_
via

Four | It’s such a simple thing, but last week, I got new measuring spoons and they’re fantastic.  I feel like these are something that people tend to cheap out on, but at $9.99, these are not expensive, are nice and heavy, and are dishwasher safe. I had to replace mine when another of my beautiful ceramic spoons broke. (Note to self: no more fragile tools)

50059983
via

Five | I’m on the hunt for a new crossbody bag because mine finally broke when we were in Portugal.  I thought about replacing it with another like it, but I’m thinking of trying something new, like this faux leather crossbody from Target.  Decisions, decisions.

2 thoughts on “The Friday Five

  1. Those measuring spoons sound awesome! The ring that holds our cheap, crappy plastic ones together just broke and we’ve been considering getting new ones. Where did you buy them?

Leave a Reply

